Skip navigation
The Australian National University

The Zines Prize

Emeritus Professor Leslie Zines

The Zines Prize is named after one of Australia’s most outstanding legal scholars, Professor Leslie Zines, who passed away in 2014. It was established in 2010 and has been awarded annually since then to both honour his work (and now his memory) and recognise, encourage, and reward excellence in legal scholarship by others.

All authors of published articles in the Federal Law Review are eligible to win the prize, which is awarded based on the decision of the Prize Committee. The 2017 Zines Prize Judging Panel comprised Professor Desmond Manderson, Associate Professor Amelia Simpson and Dr Imogen Saunders. We are pleased to announce that the 2017 winner of the Zines Prize is George Duke.


Susan H Williams, 'Federalism and Gender Equality' (2018) 46 Federal Law Review 491


George Duke, 'Popular Sovereignty and the Nationhood Power' (2017) 45 Federal Law Review 415


Lisa Burton Crawford, 'Can Parliament Confer Plenary Executive Power? The Limitations Imposed by Sections 51 and 52 of the Australian Constitution' (2016) 44 Federal Law Review 287


Stephen Gageler, 'James Bryce and the Australian Constitution' (2015) 43 Federal Law Review 177


Dr James Stellios, ‘The Centralisation of Judicial Power Within the Australian Federal System’ (2014) 42 Federal Law Review 357


Robert Woods, ‘Rights Review in the High Court and the Cultural Limits of Judicial Powers’ (2013) 41 Federal Law Review 585


Dr Brendan Lim, ‘Attributes and Attribution of State Courts - Federalism and the Kable Principle' (2012) 40 Federal Law Review 31


Professor Stephen Bottomley, ‘The Notional Legislator: The Australian Securities and Investments Commission’s Role as a Law-Maker’ (2011) 39 Federal Law Review 1


Dr Patrick Emerton, ‘Political Freedoms and Entitlements in the Australian Constitution – An Example of Referential Intentions Yielding Unintended Legal Consequences’ (2010) 38 Federal Law Review 169

Updated:  19 May 2017/Responsible Officer:  FLR Business Managers/Page Contact:  FLR Web Publishers